TURKEY BACON AND EGG SAVORY WAFFLES

15 Dec


20141215-111450.jpg

Hi guys! I hope everyone had an amazing weekend. I spent my weekend indoors relaxing and catching up on my favorite TV shows, so it was definitely well spent. Sometimes waffles don’t always have to be enjoyed as a sweet breakfast or dessert, even though I never complain when I do believe me, but sometimes savory waffles for breakfast can also wow your taste buds, and this one definitely did!

20141215-111534.jpg

This recipe is gluten free and the waffles contain brown rice flour, baking powder, eggs, unsweetened almond milk, chopped scallions and a dash of Flavor God everything spicy seasoning. I’ve been experimenting with small amounts of turkey bacon to see if my body can handle it since I have issues with digesting meat or anything that isn’t seafood based, and so far I haven’t had any issues! So we’ll see how it goes….baby steps.

Recipe: serves 2

1 cup brown rice flour
2 organic cage free eggs
½ cup unsweetened almond milk (or more depending on how think it is)
½ tsp Flavor God everything spicy seasoning (or ¼ tsp sea salt)
½ tsp gluten/aluminum free baking powder
A handful of chopped scallions
4 strips of turkey bacon
2 organic cage free eggs (for topping, one of each person)
A dash of organic extra virgin olive oil (for eggs)

First, preheat your waffle iron.

Combine the first six ingredients in a bowl and mix until well incorporated. Pour batter into the waffle maker and cook until ready.

When ready, top with fried eggs and turkey bacon. To cook turkey bacon, line a plate with paper towel and slice turkey bacon strips in half, then place the strips on top of the paper towel. Place the place in the microwave for 1 minute, then take out the strips, turn them over and return the microwave for another 1 minute. If it cooked properly, the texture should be similar to beef jerkey with a crispy texture.

Enjoy!

2 Responses to “TURKEY BACON AND EGG SAVORY WAFFLES”

  1. Paulyn Abhlimen December 15, 2014 at 8:27 pm #

    Greeting Isioma and how are you? You are doing a great job and am very proud of you. Hope all is well? Do send me your phone no. Am currently in the US. Hope you hear from your Mum?

    Merry Xmas and a fabulous New Year in advance. Always and Lots of love

    Your Godmother, Aunty Paulyn

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • Valerie Azinge December 17, 2014 at 2:42 pm #

      Thank you Paulyn 🙂 My email address is valerieazinge@gmail.com. Shoot me an email and i’ll send you my phone number.

      A very Merry Xmas and a fabulous New Year to you as well ❤️

Leave a Reply

