TILAPIA TACOS WITH SPICY SRIRACHA COCONUT SAUCE

20 Oct

20141020-120149.jpg

I hope everyone had a great weekend! I’m a huge fan of fish tacos and I was craving it for lunch today, so of course I made some! I’ve made fish tacos in the past and I would usually season the fish with salt and pepper and use chopped veggies and hot sauce to elevate the taste, so I decided to try something different and seasoned the tilapia with Flavor God seasonings…best decision of my life. I also added the lemon garlic seasoning to my homemade coconut sriracha sauce and my tummy was happy after I inhaled this meal. Good thing I have a whole box of Flavor God seasonings to last me through the winter! Second best decision of my life 😉

20141020-120725.jpg

Happy Monday! 🙂

Recipe:

1 pound tilapia fillet (sliced into cubes)
A slice of lemon
A handful of chopped red onions, red and yellow bell peppers, jalapenos, scallions, and grape tomatoes
¼ tsp balsamic vinegar
½ tsp. natural all spice mix (I used Flavor God’s everything seasoning)
Organic extra virgin olive oil
1 gluten free brown rice tortilla

Coconut Sriracha Sauce:

1/3 cup unsweetened canned coconut milk (room temperature)
2 tbsp sriracha sauce
1/2 tsp. natural all spice mix (I used Flavor God’s lemon garlic seasoning)

Preheat oven to broil and line a baking sheet with foil paper. Lightly grease with olive oil.

Coat the tilapia with balsamic vinegar, natural spice mix and 1 tsp olive oil and place on the lined baking sheet. Place tilapia in the oven and broil for 10-12 minutes (you want to retain the juices in the tilapia).

When ready, set aside. Place a skillet over medium heat and place frozen tortilla in it (you don’t need to add any oil). Fry both sides for a little less than a minute until it becomes slightly crispy. Gluten free tortillas are usually stored in the freezer because of their brittle texture due to the lack of gluten, and when left out at room temperature for just a few minutes, they start to fall apart. The best way to enjoy gluten free tortilla is to fry it, this way it holds together and you get a nice and crispy shell. Alternatively, you can use a regular tortilla wrap.

When ready, place cooked tortilla on a plate, then add tilapia, chopped red onions, red and yellow bell peppers, jalapenos, scallions, and grape tomatoes. Drizzle with some coconut sriracha sauce and add a lemon slice for extra flavor, or omit. Devour!

3 Responses to “TILAPIA TACOS WITH SPICY SRIRACHA COCONUT SAUCE”

  1. jazminedawson October 20, 2014 at 7:39 pm #

    Reblogged this on Me Beneath The Layers and commented:
    This looks like a great recipe. I would use whole grain tortillas! They’re delicious, filling, and healthy 🙂

  2. Eva October 25, 2014 at 5:53 am #

    Love that crispy edge! This recipe has been
    selected for an earpiece feature in ‘Nimet
    Digest’ Journal de l’entreprise Vol 3, as well
    as your your Spicy Breakfast Detox Green Juice
    Post.

Leave a Reply

