PALEO PAN SEARED TILAPIA AIOLI WITH SWEET PLANTAINS

17 Jun

20140617-102049.jpg

I hope everyone is having a great day. It’s always a great day for me when plantains are involved because I am well aware of the connection (and possible obsession/love affair) I have with plantains. Sometimes I crave sweet and savory meals, and rather than opting for some sweet and sour chicken, I eat plantains paired with my seafood of choice like what you see above πŸ™‚ Don’t get me wrong, an occasional indulgence in any meal of your choice is absolutely encouraged, but if you’re PMS-ing like I am right now, you would pretty much want to eat everything that looks and tastes like chocolate especially if you have an intense sweet tooth like I do. I’ve literally been craving chocolate and donuts every single day this week! Oh the perks of being a chic 😦

20140617-102123.jpg

Yup, story of my life at the moment….

Plantains are rich in fiber, vitamin C, beta-carotene and calcium, and the best part is, they are perfect for satisfying your sweet tooth the healthy way.

Recipe:

1 small ripe plantain
1 tilapia fillet
1 tbsp. organic extra virgin olive oil
2 tbsp. Paleo Mayonnaise
1 small garlic clove (grated)

Slice plantains and set aside, then place a skillet over medium heat and add olive oil. Place plantains in the skillet and fry both sides until golden brown. The riper plantains are, the less time it takes to fry them. When ready, transfer plantains into a plate and dab them with a paper towel to get rid of the extra oil.

Place paleo mayonnaise in a plate and add in garlic. Coat the tilapia evenly with the mayonnaise and garlic mixture and place in the skillet over medium low heat (you don’t need to grease the pan). Fry tilapia until both sides are slightly browned and then gently transfer into the plate with the plantains.

When ready, enjoy with a side salad or veggie of choice.

Leave a Reply

