PALEO CHIVE BUTTER GRILLED STEAK WITH THYME MARINATE

4 May

20140504-141428.jpg

I hope everyone is having a great Sunday! As some of you may know I don’t eat steak due to my allergies, but that doesn’t mean I wouldn’t cook it for others ๐Ÿ™‚ I had an early workout session with my trainer at 8am, and knowing how hard it is to get up that early on a Sunday morning, I decided I would bring her a filling caveman breakfast! She likes her steak medium rare, so I made her these with scrambled eggs on the side ๐Ÿ™‚ She found them juicy and full of flavour and her tummy was quite happy! So that brought a satisfying smile to my face ๐Ÿ™‚ I have a pan grill which goes on the stove top, but you can also cook this in an oven or a regular skillet and it will come out just as good!

In other news, I attended my friends birthday party last night and it was a blast! But the best part of the night for me was when she danced with her dad….and trust me, it wasn’t as mushy as I was expecting!

I also got my friend to take a few pictures of me in my outfit, and holy moly either I suck at posing or I have ADD…..

Getting there….

20140504-141748.jpg

Almost…..

20140504-141843.jpg

Boom!

20140504-141921.jpg

Have a great day everyone!

Recipe:

1 pound rib eye steak
2 small garlic cloves
3-4 fresh thyme branches
1 tbsp organic extra virgin olive oil
1/2 tsp. sea salt
1/2 tsp. ground black pepper
1 tbsp. chopped shallots
1 tbsp. chopped red bell peppers
1 tbsp. organic grass fed butter
1 tbsp. fresh chives (chopped)

To get maximum flavour, marinate your steak. Pat the steak dry with a paper towel, then rub in sea salt, black pepper, and olive oil making sure all angles are evenly coated. Place steak in a large ziplock bag or sealed container and place in the refrigerator. Let it marinate overnight. If you would prefer to eat your steak on the same day, then let it marinate for about an hour.

Next, mix room temperature butter and chives and place in the refrigerator for 1 hour (a few minutes after you’ve put in your steak). The butter absorbs the flavour of the chives which gives the steak a good flavour kick.

When steak is ready, set your stove to high heat and place your skillet on top of it. When the skillet starts to smoke, gently place the steak in it using tongs and let cook uncovered for 4 minutes. Flip steak and turn the heat down to medium heat, then add butter and remaining ingredients making sure all angles of the steak are coated. Spoon the melted chive butter in top of the steak, then let it cook for 2 minutes before turning the heat off. This will give you a medium rare steak, but if you want it medium, cook each side for exactly 4 minutes.

When steak is ready, let it cool off for 5 minutes, then top it with the remaining ingredients in the skillet and let you inner caveman rage free!

2 Responses to “PALEO CHIVE BUTTER GRILLED STEAK WITH THYME MARINATE”

  1. Vinny Grette May 4, 2014 at 8:15 pm #

    Pretty picture!

Leave a Reply

