PALEO CHOCOLATE CHIP BANANA BREAD

17 Mar

20140317-182211.jpg

Good evening guys! I hope everyone had a great start to the week. Sometimes when I meal prep for the week, I find that I usually prep savory meals because they are much easier to make and less time consuming. However, if I have a sudden sweet tooth craving and I don’t want to “guilt cheat” (feeling guilty for wanting to cheat and feeling even more guilt right after its happened), I get a little sad (actually I lied, I get pissed the chocolate fudge off! lol).
So I finally decided that from now on I will be clean treat prepping with my regular meal prepping once every two weeks, and it starts tonight with this yummilicious banana bread!

20140317-182524.jpg

Every time I go grocery shopping, I always stock up on bananas because I use them in my green smoothies almost every day, but they usually ripen very quickly especially when you don’t get them green! But I mean who has time to wait for the green ones to ripen? I sure don’t, so instead I use the left over “too gross to eat but perfect for baking” ripened bananas as natural sugars to make my healthy treats! This banana bread is soft, fluffy, and almost melts in your mouth without being overwhelmingly sweet ๐Ÿ™‚

Recipe: serves 10-12 slices
3 bananas (about 1 ยฝ cups) mashed
2 organic cage free eggs
1 tablespoon organic pure vanilla extract
ยผ cup organic virgin coconut oil
2 cups blanched almond flour
ยฝ teaspoon celtic sea salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 cup dairy free dark chocolate chips (enjoy life’s)

Preheat oven to 350ยฐ F.

Place bananas, eggs, vanilla, honey and coconut oil in a food processor.
Pulse ingredients together.

Pulse in almond flour, salt and baking soda, then transfer into a large bowl and mix in chocolate chips.

Scoop batter into a greased 9/5 bread baking pan.

Bake for 55-60 minutes or until it passes the toothpick test.

Let it cool for 10 minutes or devour if you can’t wait that long.

4 Responses to “PALEO CHOCOLATE CHIP BANANA BREAD”

  1. jastreiff March 17, 2014 at 10:57 pm #

    Mmm! I just posted a gluten free/paleo banana bread recipe on my blog last week :). And bananas are my must have as well! Great minds think alike ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Valerie Azinge March 18, 2014 at 6:41 pm #

      I agree! Bananas are an important staple! Great minds think alike indeed ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Maria Calicchio April 8, 2014 at 3:14 am #

    Helll there Valerie ,, I love banana bread so this sounds so worth the try, thanks ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m excited to find out this healthy twist on an classic recipe tastes!!

    You mentioned adding honey to the mixture into the food processor but honey isn’t listed as an ingredient , just wondering how much you would recommend ?

    Sent from my iPhone

    • Valerie Azinge April 8, 2014 at 12:19 pm #

      Hi Maria! I didn’t add any sweetener into the banana bread because I find the bread sweet enough with just the bananas and the chocolate chips. However, you can add 1 tablespoon of honey if you’d prefer ๐Ÿ™‚ I would love your feedback if you do make this recipe.

Leave a Reply

