PALEO PLANTAIN PANCAKES WITH LEMON CREAM FROSTING

2 Feb

20140202-100828.jpg

Hello hello! I made these yummy pancakes for breakfast yesterday, so apologize for posting this late, but these pancakes are just as yummy on a Sunday morning as they would be on a Saturday, so win win ๐Ÿ™‚ I was given the pleasure by my former modelling coach to host a healthy cooking class for young models, which is the main reason why this post is late, but the opportunity was more than anything I could ever ask for.

20140202-100901.jpg

I have never taught or hosted anything before, so doing this was out of my comfort zone. However, I was so glad I did! There is no better feeling than inspiring young and beautiful women who want to get into the fashion industry and maintain their bodies the healthy way. I was a model as well for years, and I know how the industry works, and trust me, it isn’t always as glamorous as it looks. There is always pressure from the industry to stay slim, but they are not concerned about how you achieve that, all they expect is the end result. I think it is important to coach models about healthy methods to stay in shape, especially when they are so young. Starving or developing an eating disorder just because you want to look like the models in the magazines isn’t a healthy lifestyle, it’s actually very destructive and I find that some of the modelling agencies (and I’ve worked with a few), usually neglect these habits or act oblivious to it, because at the end of the day, all that matters is the end result, which is fitting into that very fitted and almost see through Dior dress!

20140202-100940.jpg

20140202-100956.jpg

It was an honour teaching these young and beautiful models about healthy ways to stay in shape while managing their busy lives, and it even brought me more joy when they enjoyed my teaching and my food, and left comments on my Instagram page. I am the happiest I’ve ever been ever since I switched to a healthy lifestyle, and although I still model occasionally, I have learned to love and embrace my body from the inside and the outside! I love my curves, and I’m also comfortable in my own skin, because I know that I am doing the right thing for my body and my mind by taking care of myself, and although I am far from perfect, I believe I have found a stable pace, and you can too! Happy Sunday fun day and enjoy the Superbowl!

Recipe:

Pancakes:

1/3 cup almond flour
1 tbsp coconut flour
1 tsp organic pure vanilla extract
1/2 a small ripe plantain (peeled and fried with 1 tsp. coconut oil)
1/2 tsp gluten/aluminum free baking powder
2 organic cage free eggs
2-3 tbsp organic unsweetened almond milk

Lemon Frosting:

2 tbsp organic non fat plain greek yogurt
1 stevia sachet
1 tbsp lemon juice (squeezed from lemon)
A splash of organic pure vanilla extract

Place all pancaked ingredients in a food processor and process until smooth.

Place 1 tbsp. of coconut oil in a skillet over medium heat and fry pancakes. Gently Flip pancakes when edges are brown.

When pancakes are ready, set aside and combine frosting ingredients in a separate bowl.

Slather your pancakes with the frosting and enjoy with fresh berries!

Leave a Reply

