SPICY CHIPOTLE CHICKPEA AND SPINACH PIZZA FOR ONE

30 Jan

20140130-121622.jpg

Hey guys! I hope everyone is having an amazing week and looking forward to the weekend. I apologize for being M.I.A, life got busier! But for good reasons πŸ™‚ Because I’ve been swamped with work and other life situations, I realized that I was also pretty much out of groceries when I opened my refrigerator this morning, and I wasn’t surprised because when I need to go grocery shopping, I’m either tired from working all day, or too comfortable on the couch and too tired to get up. So I procrastinate until my refrigerator screams out for help! But hey, thank goodness for the pantry!

20140130-121704.jpg

I don’t eat legumes often, not that I have anything against them, but they make me bloat quite significantly, so I only consume them in rare emergencies like my no grocery situation today, (which quite frankly isn’t so rare, so who I’m I kidding? haha!). But legumes are very useful to stock up on and keep in your pantry, and sometimes you can even be inspired with some creative recipe ideas when you have them on hand. I would like to believe that this recipe is an example of how to creatively use your healthy pantry items πŸ™‚ Stay warm! And I promise I will grocery shop later tonight, right after my workout πŸ˜‰

recipe: serves 1

Crust:

1/3 cup brown rice flour
1/3 cup water
A dash of sea salt
A dash of oregano
A dash of cayenne pepper

Toppings:

1/2 a cup organic plain garbanzo beans (canned)
1 cup organic spinach leaves (withered down over medium heat with a dash of coconut oil)
1/4 tsp chipotle chilli powder
A handful of organic diced tomatoes, red onions, red bell peppers, and green olives
1 tbsp. organic parmesan cheese (grated, omit cheese if vegan)
Organic coconut oil (for frying)

Combine brown rice flour, water, sea salt, oregano, and cayenne pepper in a bowl and mix. If you find the batter a little too thick, add 2-3 tbsps. of water to loosen it up a bit.

Place a skillet over medium heat and add 1 tsp. coconut oil. Pour batter into the skillet and cook it like a pancake, flipping sides when edges are slightly brown. Proceed to top the crust with toppings, then reduce the heat to low and cover the skillet for 2-3 minutes.

When ready, feel free to top the pizza with a dash of more sea salt, or Sriracha sauce (much more yum) and enjoy! You get a lot of flavor from the onions, peppers, and cheese, so this doesn’t require too much seasoning. But feel free to spice it up however you prefer!

Leave a Reply

